That Sweet-Salty-Spicy Popcorn Recipe

“Guyyyssssss…” I said, smiling like a dope. “I think I’m drunk.” This was Sunday afternoon at Fanny and Will’s house. (You guys know Fanny and Will, right? Graphic designer and construction whiz, respectively, parents to the mighty Roxy girl cattle dog, and the sweetest hosts and pals on the planet. We’re headed to Disney together in six days to drink Tiki Tiki Tiki Tiki Tiki Rum and eat our weight in Boma soups and I. Can’t. Wait.)

image1 (4)

Back to my weekend blitz: Will had made me a gimlet. I think. It was gin and tonic water and lime juice and just the smoothest gin drink in all the gin joints in all the world. After downing the thing in less than ten (so smooth), I laid back on the big easy chair and watched some dinosaurs cause a raucous.

I was also drunk on a belly of delicious homemade popcorn. Have you ever made homemade popcorn outside of the microwave? Am I the only cat lady on the planet who hasn’t tried this?

image6

So, here’s the thing I never knew: it only takes a pot with a lid, some peanut oil, corn kernels, and rapt attention. Oh, and a paper bag. Here’s the Dines recipe:

image4

Add 3 tbsp. melted butter and shake it up in a paper bag. Pour whatever seasonings you like over the popcorn and shake again. And maybe put on some Taylor Swift and just keep shaking.

Toppings we added (to our 4 c. popcorn) to the 1/4 c. cinnamon sugar base. A pinch of:

  • Salt
  • Paprika
  • Cumin
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Dried Mustard
  • Garlic Powder

It was so good, you guys.

image5

And I ate it before I started drinking, so you know this recommendation is legit.

Enjoy!

 

P.S. Really sad day for music. Thanks for everything. Rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

