That Adele

I love absent-minded singing. In the grocery store…say, the empty detergent aisle. Especially when I don’t know the lyrics and can thoughtlessly replace them with words that have similar consonants or syllables. (Oh, how we writers truly treasure each others’ work.)

Take this Market Basket special from Sunday:

Hello, pizza hear me
I’m in cauliflower eating about who we used to meat
When we heard thunder and free
I’ve forgotten how we melt inside the pudding in our feet

In the car today, I actually shut up my pizza mouth and paid attention to the real lyrics. I remembered that Time article I read when I was at my grandparents’ (because when else do you read Time outside of a doctor’s office?).

“Hello” is Adele’s anthem to her younger self, very much worth a quiet listen. Try blocking out the voice–it’s hard, I know. She’s a powerhouse. But for me, the powerhouse has been overplayed and it was clouding the poetry. Once I tried our old creative writing Jedi mind trick (reading aloud), I heard a new voice. It was poignant and familiar.

Hello. It’s me
I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to meet
To go over, everything
They say that time’s supposed to heal ya
But I ain’t done much healing

Hello, can you hear me?
I’m in California dreaming about who we used to be
When we were younger, and free
I’ve forgotten how it felt before the world fell at our feet

There’s such a difference between us
And a million miles

Hello from the other side
I must have called a thousand times
To tell you I’m sorry for everything that I’ve done
But when I call you never seem to be home

Hello from the outside
At least I can say that I’ve tried
To tell you I’m sorry for breaking your heart
But it don’t matter it clearly doesn’t tear you apart anymore

Hello, how are you?
It’s so typical of me to talk about myself. I’m sorry
I hope that you’re well
Did you ever make it out of that town where nothing ever happened?

It’s no secret that the both of us
Are running out of time

So, my challenge (and I’m taking this up, too): write to your younger self. Pick a date–ten years ago, yesterday. Pick a self. You don’t have to share it here. But maybe think about what you’d say to him or her. What kindnesses and allowances would you give him or her–or even to yourself now because of the conversation?

I’ll check back with you soon with my own note. Until then, just stare into these beautiful cat eyes. And may the fierce lady force be with you.

ae240249-c082-4674-849b-d0699c38bba8-bestSizeAvailable

 

3 thoughts on “That Adele

Leave a Reply

